New Guru in my Life


I did something this week I never thought I would. I consulted a Vedic Astrologer for a reading.

This amazing man, Blaine Watson, came very highly recommended from a good friend, whose opinions I respect. My friend has a long history of involvement with Vedic ideas and the TM movement, and she has given Blaine high praise and has a long history of guidance from him.

Blaine’s been a lifelong student of spirituality and has taught meditation for 34 years to more than 3,000 people on 4 continents. He’s a Vedic astrologer with more than 20,000 clients in 30 countries, and he’s also an expert in Indian temple architecture, vastu and sthapatyaveda, and ayurveda. He currently lives in Canada.

Before I share a little about what he told me, here is a bit about what Jyotisha, or Vedic astrology, is in general.

Jyotisha is quite different from Western astrology. Rather than trying to explain what I do not fully understand, here is a beautiful description from the Vedic Vidya Institute:

“Jyotisha is the Sanskrit name for Indian astrology and astronomy, which literally means the “Lords of Light” and by extension, “the study of light”—both light from the sky and from one’s inner “sight”.  It is a model of reality which interprets the observed conditions of the cosmos at the time of an event–such as birth–in order to provide insight into the nature of that event and its subsequent trajectory.

Jyotisha has been passed on from teacher to student for literally thousands of years and is still alive and well in India as a vibrant and living tradition. The Vedas (knowledge) are the great cognitions of the ancient Rishis (sages) which are the foundation of the Indian culture and philosophy.

Jyotisha itself is a Vedanga – one of six limbs of the Veda that support and sustain the precious knowledge and allow it to be recognized generation after generation. Jyotisha is therefore relevant in guiding each and every one of us towards greater understanding of our place in the cosmos, so that we may better know who we are, where we come from and where we are going.

Jyotisha is a powerful tool in illuminating what may previously have been an “unseen” chain of cause and effect and thus allows an individual to understand and ultimately find alignment with the trajectory of one’s life path. Like all classical Indian subjects, Jyotisha is truly a beautiful study that embraces many other disciplines and develops in its followers a unique blend of logic, intuition, pragmatism, analysis and synthesis.

Indeed, Jyotisha is a “sadhana,” a spiritual path that can transform one’s life permanently.”

Now for the FUN part…

Here are some highlights of my consult with Blaine.

  • My rising sign (ascendant) is Taurus, and my moon sign is Libra, both of which are governed by Venus–so I’m a hybrid of the two. The Taurus is my earthy feminine energy, and Libra gives me my masculine, analytical side. Taurus makes me stubborn but very loyal. Libra makes me restless and needing changes in environment, and a constant thirst for learning and mental activity.
  • I am heavily influenced by Mercury, the Sun and a point in the solar system called Ketu. These forces give me communication skills/writing, sociability, intelligence and clarity of thought, and autonomy. I am my own best partner and my own worst enemy!
  • Due to the influence of Ketu, my focus in this lifetime is on knowledge and spirituality and finding answers about the meaning of life. I “might achieve enlightenment” this time through, and it’s probably my last lifetime.

Now for the forecasts… this is where it gets really interesting.

When my health had become so compromised that I quit my private practice in July of 2006, I had just entered a 17-year Mercury cycle (called a dasha) on 7/21/06. Mercury is “the writer,” by the way. Having never before pursued writing professionally, I decided to start this blog shortly after that, in spring of 2007. Then I applied for the medical journalism position with Dr. Mercola in the spring of 2008.

Coincidence? Hmm…

I am also in a couple of other planetary cycles that will be increasingly favorable for my health and financial situation over the coming few years. Between now and the end of 2010, the planetary influences are very good for research and diagnostics–which is great because I’ve been involved in the pituitary endocrinology workup for the past month, which is continuing through end of October.

After the first of the year, I’ll be “unrelentingly busy” with “writing/business/publishing,” but all with good outcomes. And my health will continue to improve.

Then in May, I enter the “Perfect Health Transit“–during which time Jupiter will be perfectly placed in my chart so as to help resolve all of my health and financial issues!

Cool, ey?

What’s It All Mean?

I feel so encouraged by all of this! Since no one really knows what the future will bring, including me, it is nice to have some predictions to help shine a little light on the path.

If you’re a believer in this sort of thing, and the forecasts ring true, you’ll say, “See–astrology works!”

If you’re a skeptic and the forecasts ring true, you’ll attribute it to coincidence or the placebo effect or some other accepted explanation.

I’m not sure where I will fall, between the two. But I am wide open to the world of possibilities. After all, there are many things that work, but we don’t know why. There are many “impossible” things that happen but aren’t supposed to.

The pyramids should have been impossible for mankind to build, yet there they are–defying all “scientific” explanation. Acupuncture has worked for thousands of years, yet we don’t understand how. One electron should not be able to occupy two places at the same time, yet that’s now been demonstrated in a lab.

We don’t know what we don’t know.

I DO know that I am really looking forward to seeing how it all enfolds!

One thought on “New Guru in my Life

Leave a Reply

